Legal dating age difference in michigan, related legal questions
Close in age exemptionscommonly known as "Romeo and Juliet laws", are put in place to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent. Last edited by Ohio "Step" Mom; at Even if the underage person pursues or agrees to the legal dating age difference in michigan relationship, the defendant can still face criminal conviction.
Sexual conduct with a child under the age of 13, or with a child age 13 to 16 where the defendant is in a position of authority, is punishable by a minimum of 15 years in prison, up to life imprisonment. Please check the dates before you post.
Martin-Henry Apr 26, While partners who are of age 18 and above in most states may marry with relatively few restrictions, state marriage age requirement laws apply to minors. The new law just recognizes certain circumstances where people who are within four years of each other in a consensual, oftentimes, dating relationship.
If a minor is having sex with an adult, it doesn't matter if the parents were ok with it. It is a defense to a charge of consensual sexual activity with a person under the age of 16 or a student age 16 or 17 that the defendant and the child are married.
3 attorney answers
Other Sexual Conduct It is a lesser crime criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree to engage in sexual activity short of sexual penetration with: Sales Sales Affiliates Library Trade. The law says that a person under the age of 16 cannot legally consent to have sex. The age of consent in Michigan is 16, so there is no illegality, absent the special circumstances my colleague notes. I've been through it, so the information you're providing that a parent can just go down to the court, get and RO to prevent the guy from legal dating age difference in michigan contacting their daughter again incorrect based on Michigan law, so instead of lecturing me on dates, you should moderate your post to reflect correct information.
Age of Consent is 16 in Michigan, what exactly does that mean?
You may have to register before you can post: Punishment Criminal sexual conduct in the third degree is punishable by up to 15 years in prison. As I stated, you can get one for yourself, your property, you may even ask the judge for one to prevent him from contacting your daughter, but even if he grants it--without your daughter's consent--there is nothing the law can do when she contacts him. Many posts you see on our forums are made by newsgroup users who may not be members of LaborLawTalk.
Forum powered by Labor Law Talk. Obtaining Legal Assistance and Counsel Being convicted of statutory rape, like any sex crime, can have extremely serious consequences.
Michigan marriage age requirement laws restrict marriage to those 16 and older with parental consent. For example purposes only: But, Governor Rick Snyder recently signed a change in the law that becomes effective July 1, Ok, you're wrong with regards to the restraining order. Age limit laws typically allow partners with a child or expecting a child to get married, but a few states have no statutory age limits.
Let us know when your receive great advice so we can thank our lawyers and point others with similar questions in the right direction. I don't believe what I write, and neither should you.
Why do I have to complete a CAPTCHA?
Michigan does not have a close-in-age exemption. The following box includes the code section and highlights of Michigan's marriage age requirements.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience. Without such a statute, the information provided is not incorrect. How it Works Briefly tell us about your case Provide your contact information Choose attorneys to contact you.
The law IS NOT automatically retroactive, but if a person was previously placed on a sex offender list for a Romeo and Juliet-type situation, that person can now petition with legal assistance from a criminal defense lawyer to have their name removed.
Charges resulting from a breach of these laws may range from a relatively low-level misdemeanor such as "corruption of a minor," to "statutory rape" which is considered equivalent to rape, both in severity and sentencing. By my title I mean - with my preferences in dating am I searching for something that either doesn't exist or is exceedingly rare?
All of which is irrelevant to the fact that the rules of the site request that you not post to dead threads unless you are the original poster coming back with an update.